The word yoga means to yoke, to join together, to bind. The science of yoga is dedicated to integration: of the body, mind and soul; the inner and outer world; and each of us with the rest of life to create a harmonious state. It is the recognition that we are each but one cell in the organism of life and that each of us has an effect on the whole. There are many paths in yoga to help us arrive at this state of oneness.

Hatha Yoga is one of these paths, and the one with which we are most familiar due to it’s current popularity. It is the path that utilizes the physical body as a means to self- awareness. “Ha” means sun. “Tha” means moon. Hatha Yoga is the integration of the polarities: the sun and the moon; gravity and levity; our connection to Earth and our connection to Heaven; the masculine and feminine energies; the left and right brain; and agonist and antagonist muscles. We utilize physical postures and breathwork in order to appreciate and re-discover how to harmonize these forces and to effectively live according to the principles of yoga.

The 10 principles are:

  1. Compassion for all life
  2. Commitment to the truth
  3. Not stealing
  4. Not hoarding
  5. A sense of your higher consciousness
  6. Purity
  7. Contentment
  8. Enthusiasm
  9. Self-study
  10. Celebration of Spirit